Visit a Dunkin’ Donuts joint, and you’ll be delighted to know that you’ll probably pay only $9.99 for a dozen donuts. But that’s not really good for a vegan at all.
As a rule, vegans and the entire fast-food industry doesn’t really mix all that well. That’s especially true for Dunkin’ Donuts. If your dietary plan is to avoid all meat and fish items, including animal by products such as cheese, milk, and eggs, then your choices here are rather limited.
That starts with how you can’t really enjoy the donuts here at all. So far, each and every one of these donuts contain either milk or eggs (and sometimes both).
But you can still enjoy a few treats here, with some food and drink items that can still comply with vegan dietary restrictions.
Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan Breakfast Options
There are some food items here with main ingredients that should be okay with vegan rules. That means these food items don’t contain milk or eggs as their main ingredients.
You can try hash browns, for example. That’s a good choice for vegans.
You may also want to try the multigrain brown sugar oatmeal with dried fruit topping. The main problem is with cross-contamination.
The oatmeal listed here, for example, is technically vegan. But it may still contain traces of milk and eggs, because the equipment used to make it is also used for non-vegan food items. If you’re willing to bend the rules a little bit, then this is a good choice as well.
Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan Baked Goods Options
You can’t go with donuts, and the biscuits and croissants here are also out of bounds for you. That’s because they contain butter, which is an animal by-product that many vegans don’t approve of.
However, the bagels may be good, as long as you don’t mind the traces of milk and eggs. Again, that’s mainly because these bagels are made with equipment also used for non-vegan food items. You can try the following:
- Cinnamon raisin bagel
- English muffin
- Everything bagel
- Plain bagel
- Sesame seed bagel
The bagels are good, because when you get them plain, they don’t have any eggs, milk, or butter. The only bagel you shouldn’t get if you’re a vegan is the multigrain bagel. That’s because it contains honey.
Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan Tea Options
This is usually a safe choice for vegans, as Dunkin’ Donuts doesn’t really use honey as sweetener for these beverages. That means you can get the flavored sweet teas and other sweetened teas, along with the plain teas. You can go with the following tea options, safe in the knowledge that you’re following the rules:
- Bold breakfast black tea
- Chamomile fields herbal infusion
- Cool mint herbal infusion
- Decaf breakfast black tea
- Harmony leaf green tea
- Hibiscus kiss herbal infusion
- Iced black tea
- Iced green tea
- Iced sweetened blueberry flavored tea
- Iced sweetened raspberry flavored tea
- Sweet tea
- Sweet tea (blueberry flavored)
- Sweet tea (raspberry flavored)
Dunkin’ Donuts also sell pre-packaged teas, which you can get online or from some stores. These are also allowed by vegan rules.
Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan Coffee Options
If you’re a vegan, try the following options if you’re in the mood for some coffee:
- Americano, black
- Cold brew coffee, black
- Hot coffee, black
- Hot latte with almond milk
- Iced Americano, black
- Iced coffee with almond milk
- Iced coffee, black
- Iced latte with almond milk
- Mocha swirl hot coffee, black
- Mocha swirl iced coffee, black
- Nitro cold brew coffee, black
- Thin Mints swirl hot coffee, black
- Thin Mints swirl iced coffee, black
- Winter spice-infused cold brew coffee, black
- Winter spice-infused hot coffee, black
As you can see, most of them are black coffee versions. Without the milk or cream, you’re following the vegan restrictions. But you can also opt for the non-dairy versions of the milk and cream, by asking for almond or soy milk instead. These milk versions aren’t animal by-products at all.
The same goes for the cappuccinos and lattes. Since they’re normally made with steamed milk, you normally can’t have them if you’re a strict vegan. But if you’re able to replace the milk with almond milk instead, then you’re still good.
Other Vegan Beverages
You can also try the Coolattas, as none of their main ingredients violate vegan rules. However, you still have a problem with cross-contamination. A Coolatta may contain small traces of milk, due to the equipment used to make it.
If you don’t mind, you can try the Blue Raspberry Coolatta and the Strawberry Coolatta.
Then there are the Energy Punches. You can go with the Blue Raspberry Dunkin’ Energy Punch and the Strawberry Dunkin’ Energy Punch.
These come with plenty of caffeine, which is not really bad. What’s bad, is that these drinks generally come with large amounts of sugar as well. If you opted for the vegan lifestyle for your health, then you may want to avoid them even though they’re technically vegan as well.